Actions

UNTRIMMONITOR

From BAWiki

Basic Information

Name of Program

UNTRIMMONITOR

Version-Date

1.0 / July 2006

Description-Date

October 2006

Catchwords

numerical simulation
analysis of UnTrim-Message-Files

Short Description of Functionality

The program UNTRIMMONITOR is used for the graphical visualization of information from the UNTRIM-Message-file. The values of iter, ntres (number of iterations) and maxError (measure for the quality of the solution) are time-series. The program is able to make a plot of these parameters. Additionally the parameter maxError is shown in an XY coordinate system. The described parameters provide an indication of the performance of the numerical code as well as the quality of the computational results. The routine also exports time-series data to a semicolon-separated-data file, which can easily be imported in spreadsheats (e.g. EXCEL). The evaluation can be performed during the simulation or after the end of a model run, so that deficiencies of the simulation can be recognized promptly.

The represented parameters are:

  1. iter: Number of iterations of the free surface
  2. ntres: Number of iterations for the solution of the transport equations, separately for each tracer (e.g. salinity, temperature, suspended load)
  3. maxError: maximum error of the iterative computed water level in the whole model area; this value is the difference between the iterative computed water level and the water level, which will be obtained after inserting the computed velocity in the continuity equation.

The following figure shows an example for a simulation. The time-series of the named parameters are plotted on the right hand side (produced with UnTrimMonitor). A picture of the current velocity at a critical stage with a large number of iteration is shown on the left hand side of the figure. figure

Input-Files

UNTRIM Messagefile (filetype untrim.msg)

Output-Files

  1. (optional) pixel image (filetype untrimmonitor.png)
  2. (optional) ASCII-File (filetype untrimmonitor.monitor) semicolon separated columns of the simulation time steps, iter, ntres, maxError

Methodology

The program reads the values of iter, ntres and maxError from the UnTrim-Message-file first. After that the parameters can be plotted or be written to a semicolon-separated-data file. This type of file can easily be imported in spreadsheats and processed in other tools (e.g. EXCEL)

Program(s) to run before this Program

UNTRIM

Program(s) to run after this Program

EXCEL

Additional Information

Language

java

Additional software

-

Original Version

R. Schubert, U. Schiller

Maintenance

U. Schiller

Documentation/Literature

-


back to Program Descriptions


Overview

Aktionen

UNTRIMMONITOR

Aus BAWiki

Basisinformationen

Programm-Name

UNTRIMMONITOR

Version

1.0 / Juli 2006

Beschreibung

Oktober 2006

Stichworte

numerische Simulation
Analyse von UNTRIM-Message-Dateien

Kurzbeschreibung

Das Programm UNTRIMMONITOR dient der grafischen Darstellung von Informationen aus der UNTRIM-Message-Datei. Dabei werden die Angaben iter, ntres (Anzahl der Iterationen) und maxError (Maß für die Güte der Lösung) als Funktion über die Zeit dargestellt. Der Parameter maxError wird zusätzlich in einem XY-Koordinatensystem aufgetragen. Die beschriebenen Parameter liefern Hinweise auf die Performance und die Güte des Modells. Eine Exportfunktion stellt die Parameter als Semikolon separierte Liste zur Verfügung, die anschließend weiterverarbeitet werden kann (z.B. mit EXCEL). Die Auswertung kann sowohl im Postprocessing, aber auch schon während der Simulation erfolgen, so dass Unzulänglichkeiten der Simulation frühzeitig erkannt werden können.

Bei den dargestellten Parametern handelt es sich um:

  1. iter: Anzahl der Iterationen der freien Oberfläche
  2. ntres: Anzahl der Iterationen für die Lösung der Transportgleichungen, getrennt für jeden Tracer (z.B. Salzgehalt, Temperatur, Schwebstoffgehalt)
  3. maxError: maximaler Fehler des iterativ berechneten Wasserstands in dem gesamten Modellgebiet; dieser Wert ergibt sich aus der Differenz des iterativ berechneten Wasserstands von dem Wert für den Wasserstand, den man nach dem Einsetzen der berechneten Strömungsgeschwindigkeit in die Kontinuitätsgleichung erhält.

Die nachfolgende Abbildung zeigt für ein Simulationsbeispiel den mit UnTrimMonitor visualisierten zeitlichen Verlauf der o.g. Parameter und die synoptischen Geschwindigkeiten zu einem Zeitpunkt mit deutlich erhöhter Anzahl von Iteration. Abbildung

Eingabe-Dateien

  1. UNTRIM Messagedatei (Dateityp untrim.msg)

Ausgabe-Dateien

  1. (optional) Pixelgraphiken (Dateien des Typs untrimmonitor.png)
  2. (optional) ASCII-Datei Semikolon separierte Liste der Simulationszeitschritten mit den Parametern iter, ntres, maxError (Dateityp untrimmonitor.monitor)

Methode

Zunächst werden die Werte der Größen iter, ntres und maxError aus der UnTrim-Message-Datei gelesen. Anschließend können optional die Parameter graphisch dargestellt oder als Semikolon separierte Liste in eine Datei ausgegeben werden.

Vorlauf-Programme

UNTRIM

Nachlauf-Programme

EXCEL

Weitere Informationen

Programmiersprache

java

zusätzliche Software

-

Originalversion

R. Schubert, U. Schiller

Programmpflege

U. Schiller

Dokumentation/Literatur

-


zurück zu Programmkennblätter


Strukturübersicht