Actions

ADCP2PROFILE

From BAWiki

Basic Information

Name of Program

ADCP2PROFILE

Version-Date

2.1

Description-Date

October 2007

Catchwords

conversion of measured data
ADCP moving ship measurement
profile
location grid
universal direct access format
synoptic dataset
ship track
geopositions

Short Description of Functionality

The program adcp2profile can be used to convert ADCP data measured by a moving ship along a profile into the universal direct access format BDF (see also under dirz.bin). The data gets projected to the nodes of a vertical location grid which is a profile with depth layers. The values taken during one profile ride are regarded as synoptic. Typical measures are velocity, suspended load and suspended load transport.

The graphical processors GVIEW2D and VVIEW2D enable the user to compare converted data visually with model results.

In cases of cross-profiles a straight profile defined by a starting and an end point is sufficient. Long Longitudinal profiles require geopositions in between. Therefore adcp2profile can optionally be run as a geoposition generator. You can generate a longitudinal profile with the processor TICLQ2 and the generated files of type geopos.dat. In a second adcp2profile run you can use this profile to collect the ADCP data. But the data is not synoptic. Before comparing the measurements with model results, it it recommended to run the program TIMESHIFT.

Input-Files

  1. general input data (filetype adcp2profile.dat).
  2. profile out of the hydronumerical model (file of type profil05.bin); only one profile with two geopositions is allowed
  3. files with configuration data for the output BDF files (files of type bdf_file_cfg.dat); the files $PROGHOME/cfg/profiles_2d_adcp.dat and $PROGHOME/cfg/profiles_3d_adcp.dat guarantee already a succesful run of ADCP2PROFILE
  4. file(s), each containing the measured data of one profile ride (file(s) of type adcp_profile.dat)
  5. (optional) BDF files out of the hydronumerical model (files of type dirz.bin.r,dirz.bin.i and dirz.bin)
  6. (optional) vertical structure in a file of type vertical.dat

Either the BDF file or of the vertical structure must be present.

Output-Files

  1. BDF files named 2D.* with the converted data for two dimensional physical quantities ; 2D means that only one value exists for water column e.g. water level (files of type dirz.bin.r, dirz.bin.I and dirz.bin)
  2. BDF files named 3D.* with the converted data for three dimensional physical quantities; 3D means that values may vary in a water column (files of type dirz.bin.r, dirz.bin.i and dirz.bin)
  3. in case of a generating geopositions of a ship track: file of type geopos.dat;
  4. in case of a collection ADCP-data on a ship track: file of type gprofil.dat with times;
  5. (optional) lineprinter file containing useful information related to program execution (filetype adcp2profile.sdr);
  6. (optional) file with trace of program execution (filetype adcp2profile.trc).

Methodology

The measured ADCP datasets consist of cells. The cell values are projected on the nodes of a vertical location grid. There are neither spatial interpolations nor extrapolations.

Converted data is regarded as quasi synoptic and is related to a desired time, the mean of start and end time. By using the physical quantity time difference relativ desired time it is possible to determine the time of each measurement.

Depth in ADCP datasets refers to the elevation of the water surface, the one in the converted data refers to MSL. The water level value in a file of type adcp2profile.dat overrides the value given in a file of type adcp_profile.dat.

The measured ensembles have a certain distance to the projected points on the hydronumerical profile. It is possible to choose a maximum distance. Values with a greater distance are marked as incorrect.

Cells with incorrect or no values are marked with a null value. In the following figure these cells are displayed grey. Current velocity data converted by ADCP2PROFILE and displayed by VVIEW2D (935k)

Comments to some physical quantities:

  1. The dimensionality of the current velocity depends on the state of the switch Schwebstoffgehalte (Suspended load) in the general input data.
    • .false. : The magnitude refers to x-, y- and z-components.
    • .true. : The magnitude refers only to the x- and y-components similar to the magnitude of the suspended load transport rate.
  2. The depth averaged current velocity is calculated at nodes of a water column with correct velocity values. This can be one single node. One should keep this in mind when comparing it with hydronumeric results.
  3. Backscatter gives information about the relativ intensity of the reflected signal.
  4. The discharge per ADCP cell contains the component orthogonal to the direction of the moving ship. This may differ from the direction of the hydronumerical profile. The size of the ADCP cells varies and the measured discharge in mm**3/s depends on the cell size. Therefore it is not recommanded to compare it with the discharge evaluated by the numerical models.
  5. The magnitude of the suspended load transport rate refers only to the x- and y-components.

New in version 2.1:

ShipTrack with measurement times displayed by VVIEW2D (90k)

If the profile is defined by more than two geopositions it is supposed to be an exact ship track e.g. along a longitudinal ride. It may contain several rides. Because it can be rather long the ride can no longer be regarded as synoptic. An additional time information is helpful for visualisation. A file of type gprofil.dat gets generated for this purpose. With this file visualisation programs as LQ2PRO or VVIEW2D can plot the measurement time at each geoposition.

Program(s) to run before this Program

DATACONVERT, DIDAMERGE, P2ASCII (PC), TICLQ2, TR2DIDA, TR2LQ2, TR3DIDA, TRIM-3D, UNTRIM, VISEA (PC)

Program(s) to run after this Program

GVIEW2D, LQ2PRO, TICLQ2, TIMESHIFT, VVIEW2D, XTRDATA

Additional Information

Language

Fortran90

Additional software

-

Original Version

P.Schade

Maintenance

P.Schade

Documentation/Literature

please refer to $PROGHOME/examples/adcp2profile/


back to Program Descriptions


Overview

Aktionen

ADCP2PROFILE

Aus BAWiki

Basisinformationen

Programm-Name

ADCP2PROFILE

Version

2.1

Beschreibung

Oktober 2007

Stichworte

Konversion von Messdaten
ADCP-Messungen vom fahrenden Schiff
Profil
Location Grid
universelles Direktzugriffsdatenformat
synoptischer Datensatz
Schiffstrack
Geopositionen

Kurzbeschreibung

Mit dem Programm ADCP2PROFILE kann man Messdaten, die von einem fahrenden Schiff entlang eines Profiles aufgenommen wurden, in das universelle Direktzugriffsdatenformat BDF (siehe auch dirz.bin)umwandeln. Die Daten werden auf die Knoten eines vertikalen Location Grids projiziert, eines Sollprofiles aufgebaut aus Tiefenschichten. Die während einer Profilfahrt aufgenommenen Werte werden als synoptisch bewertet. Die wesentlichen zu konvertierenden Größen sind Strömungsgeschwindigkeit, Schwebstoffgehalt und Schwebstofftransport.

Die graphischen Prozessoren GVIEW2D und VVIEW2D erlauben einen visuellen Vergleich zwischen konvertierten Messungen und Modellergebnissen.

Im Falle von Querprofilen ist eine durch Anfangs- und Endpunkt definierte Gerade ausreichend. Lange Profile können weitere Stützstellen erfordern. Zu diesem Zweck kann ADCP2PROFILE optional als ein Geopositions-Generator verwendet werden (neu ab Version 2.1). Nachfolgend ist es möglich mit dem Preprocessor TICLQ2 ein dem Schiffstrack folgendes Profil zu generieren. In einem zweiten ADCP2PROFILE-Lauf werden die Messdaten auf diesem Sollprofil aufgesammelt. Bei langen Profilen liegen die Daten nicht synoptisch vor. Vor Vergleichen mit Modellergebnissen wird deshalb das Programm TIMESHIFT empfohlen, das eine zeitliche Korrektur auf den Modellergebnissen durchführt.

Eingabe-Dateien

  1. Eingabesteuerdaten (Dateityp adcp2profile.dat)
  2. Profil aus dem hydronumerischen Modell (Dateiyp profil05.bin); darf nur ein Profil bestimmt durch zwei Geopositionen enthalten
  3. Dateien mit Konfigurationsangaben zu den BDF-Ausgabedateien (Dateityp bdf_file_cfg.dat); die Dateien $PROGHOME/cfg/profiles_2d_adcp.dat und $PROGHOME/cfg/profiles_3d_adcp.dat gewährleisten bereits einen erfolgreichen Lauf von ADCP2PROFILE
  4. Messdatei(en), wobei jede die Messungen genau einer Profilfahrt enthält (Dateityp :adcp_profile.dat)
  5. (optional) BDF-Dateien aus dem hydronumerischen Modell (Dateityp dirz.bin.r, dirz.bin.i und dirz.bin)
  6. (optional) Vertikalstruktur in einer Datei des Typs vertical.dat

Entweder die BDF-Datei oder die Vertikalstruktur müssen vorhanden sein.

Ausgabe-Dateien

  1. BDF-Dateien mit Namen 2D.*, die konvertierte Daten zweidimensionaler physikalischer Größen enthalten; 2D bedeutet das nur ein Wert für eine Wassersäule existiert, wie z.B. beim Wasserstand (Dateityp dirz.bin.R, dirz.bin.I und dirz.bin)
  2. BDF-Dateien mit Namen 3D.*, die konvertierte Daten dreidimensionaler physikalischer Größen enthalten; 3D bedeutet das die Werte über die Wassersäule variieren können (Dateityp dirz.bin.r, dirz.bin.i und dirz.bin)
  3. falls Geopositionen auf einem Schiffstrack generiert werden Dateien des Typs geopos.dat;
  4. falls ADCP-Daten auf einem Schiffstrack aufgesammelt werden Dateien des Typs gprofil.dat mit Messzeiten;
  5. Druckerdatei mit Informationen zum Programmablauf und im Falle der Erzeugung von Geopositionsdateien Stammdaten zum Generieren einer ticlq2.dat. (Dateityp adcp2profile.sdr);
  6. (optional) Datei mit Testausgaben (Dateityp adcp2profile.trc).

Methode

Die gemessenen ADCP-Daten liegen in den Dateien des Typs adcp_profile.dat zellenweise vor. Die Werte der Zellen werden stets auf die Knoten des gleichen vertikalen Location Grids projiziert. Räumlich werden weder Inter- noch Extrapolationen vorgenommen.

Die Daten einer Profilfahrt werden unter einem Zeitpunkt in der BDF-Datei abgespeichert. Kurze Fahrten, z.B. auf Querprofilen werden als quasi synoptisch betrachtet und einer Sollzeit, dem Mittel aus Anfangs- und Enddatum zugeordnet. Aus der Sollzeit und der physikalischen Größe Zeitdifferenz zur Sollzeit läßt sich auf die Messzeit jedes Profilabschnittes rückschließen.

Die Tiefe in den ADCP-Daten bezieht sich auf die Wasseroberfläche, die in den konvertierten Daten auf NN. Die Wasserstandsangabe in der Eingabesteuerdatei überschreibt ggf. die in einer Datei vom Typ adcp_profile.dat gemachte Angabe.

Die gemessenen Ensembles weisen einen gewissen Abstand zu den projizierten Punkten auf dem Sollprofil auf. Man kann einen Maximalabstand wählen, bis zu dem Messwerte übernommen werden. Weiter entfernte Messungen werden als ungültig gekennzeichnet

Zellen mit ungültig oder nicht vorhandenen Messwerten werden mit einer Fehlerkennung versehen. In der folgenden Abbildung sind diese Zellen grau dargestellt.

Strömungsgeschwindigkeitsdaten umgewandelt von ADCP2PROFILE und mit VVIEW2D dargestellt (935k)

Anmerkungen zu einigen physikalischen Größen:

  1. Die Dimensionalität der Strömungsgeschwindigkeit hängt von der Einstellung des Schalters Schwebstoffgehalte in der Eingabesteuerdatei ab.
    • .false. : X-, y- und z-Komponente gehen in den Betrag ein.
    • .true. : Analog zum Schwebstofftransport gehen nur x- und y-Komponente in den Betrag ein.
  2. In die tiefengemittelte Strömungsgeschwindigkeit gehen nur Knoten einer Vertikalen ein, an denen eine gültige Geschwindigkeit vorliegt, was im Extremfall ein einzelner Punkt sein kann. Dies sollte man beim Vergleich mit hydronumerischen Ergebnissen beachten.
  3. Das Backscattersignal gibt Aufschluss über die relative Stärke des reflektierten Signals und ist nur qualitativ zu betrachten.
  4. Beim Durchfluss pro ADCP-Zelle ist nur der Anteil orthogonal zur Fahrtrichtung des Schiffes berücksichtigt. Diese muss nicht der Lage des Sollprofiles entsprechen. Die Fläche der ADCP-Zelle variiert und der gemessene Durchfluss in m**3/s hängt von der Zellfläche ab. Deshalb ist es nicht empfehlenswert die Messungen untereinander oder mit dem in den numerischen Modellen berechneten Durchfluss zu vergleichen.
  5. Der Betrag des Schwebstofftransportes setzt sich nur aus x- und y-Komponente zusammen.

Neu in Version 2.1:

Schiffstrack mit Messzeiten dargestellt mit VVIEW2D (90k)

Wenn das Sollprofil durch mehr als zwei Geopositionen definiert ist, wird angenommen, dass ein exakter Schiffstrack entlang eines Längsprofils vorliegt. Mehrere Messfahrten werden zu einem Sollprofil aneinandergehängt. Weil sie teilweise recht lang sind, können sie nicht weiter als synoptisch angesehen werden. Eine zusätzliche Zeitangabe ist hilfreich zur weiteren Visualisierung. Eine Datei des Typs gprofil.dat wird zu diesem Zweck generiert. Mit dieser Datei können die Visualisierungsprogramme LQ2PRO und VVIEW2D die Messzeiten an jeder Geoposition plotten.

Neu ist ebenfalls die o.a. Erzeugung von Geopositionsdateien.

Vorlauf-Programme

DATACONVERT, DIDAMERGE, P2ASCII (PC), TICLQ2, TR2DIDA, TR2LQ2, TR3DIDA, TRIM-3D, UNTRIM, VISEA (PC)

Nachlauf-Programme

GVIEW2D, LQ2PRO, TICLQ2, VVIEW2D, TIMESHIFT, XTRDATA

Weitere Informationen

Programmiersprache

Fortran90

zusätzliche Software

-

Originalversion

P.Schade

Programmpflege

P.Schade

Dokumentation/Literatur

siehe auch $PROGHOME/examples/adcp2profile/


zurück zu Programmkennblätter


Strukturübersicht